Picasso’s Prints

Earlier I posted a few of my intaglio prints.  I actually had the chance to go to the Picasso print exhibit at the Cincinnati Art Museum.  There was a wide variety of prints displayed from etchings to engravings.  Picasso began making prints in 1905.  He made lithographs, etchings, drypoints, lino cuts, woodcuts and aquatints; so basically he tried it all.  Much of his work was inspired by his background, the subject matter often being a bull fight or a matador.  I can relate to this because every artist is inspired by their beginnings.  The show was set up chronologically and was easy to follow.  My favorite pieces were sugar lift etchings, one of which I have attached below.  I have also attached a kindof intense video showing what sugar lift technique is exactly.

Leave a Reply

