Technique

My most used technique in my artwork would have to be the layering of colors.  I like having a heavy application of color to create a depth in the piece.  When working with acrylic paint I use several layers of paint to create textures and dimensions that I love.  I use unexpected colors in the layers, like using shades of blues when creating the contours of a face.  When using my favorite dry medium, oil pastel, I pile on the colors and when the surface gets too slick I scrap off excess pastel with an xacto knife blade.  I also use a blade to blend the colors together when they get really thick.  Sometimes I think of myself as a color fanatic, I can’t choose just one color so I need to combine them all to get the perfect hue.

Leave a Reply

