Tourist Work

 

 

These are four of six collages that I did today in my studio.  They are composed of different pieces of photographs that I took and cut paper with graphite on top.  I made these because my professor suggested that I re-evaluate the shapes and geometric forms that I pass by every single day.  He asked me to take pictures of DAAP’s architecture, to capture all of the angles that interest me.  After doing this I made lots of copies and quickly assembled these collages.  In doing this I was able to create new shapes and forms that are very complex.  There are two or three that I am pleased with and am going to base paintings off of them in the future.

 

Although I looked like a tourist photographing the building I’ve practically lived in for years, the experience allowed me to see things differently.  I think that it might not be so important to me to have significant meaning to the shapes that I create, but it is more amusing for me to continually reinvent these shapes and warp them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

